Pierre de Coubertin Award – Vicki Hogan-Keogh

The 2017 Pierre De Coubertin Awards

The Pierre de Coubertin Awards, an initiative of the Victorian Olympic Council and the Department of Education and Training, turned 20 this year and WPSC was one of the 15 schools who have participated each year since its inception in 1997.

There are now over 200 school representatives receiving this award-an indication of the significance and esteem in which this award is held.


Named after the founder of the Modern Olympic Games, Baron Pierre de Coubertin, the awards aim to recognise students who demonstrate attributes consistent with the fundamental aims of the Olympic movement. These attributes include participation in sporting endeavors with a particular emphasis on competing and commendable sporting behavior.

This year the award was presented to Vicki Hogan-Keogh a Year 12 student. The award ceremony was held on Sunday June 23rd at the Melbourne Sports and Aquatic Centre (MSAC) and provided the opportunity to connect one on one with Olympians: Linley Frame Swimming, Ellia Green Gold medalist Rugby, Belinda Hocking Swimming, Jeff Riseley Athletics, Pam Ryan Silver and Bronze medalist Athletics and Trevor Vincent Athletics.  The day also included a tour of the Victorian Institute of Sport (VIS) which Matt Foy also attended. Western Port Secondary College also received a certificate recognising our support.

Pierre’s inspiring message reminds us that: “The most important thing in the Olympic Games is not to win but to take part. Just as the most important thing in life is not the triumph but the struggle.”

Congratulations Vicki.